WIAW #10: Wearing a Towel to the Bakery

I have seen a long-haired man skateboarding down the artery of town wearing a black cape and carrying a (presumably plastic) machete.

I have seen a homeless man doing a poo on the curb of the same main street with his bead-wearing Jack Russell by his side.

I have seen a woman clad in a shiny purple mini dress whiz by on her bicycle while holding her bull-dog with one arm and shouting “I’m late for court” over and over.

I have seen another bicyclist ride through campus during rush hour while eating noodles with chopsticks.

And now I have seen a middle-aged woman order croissants from the bakery with a towel still on her head, hair dripping away.

She must have gotten an uncontrollable craving for a croissant while she was drying off after showering..

She must have gotten an uncontrollable craving for a croissant while she was drying off after showering..

Girl_with_a_Pearl_Earring

A friend of mine pointed out that the towel lady actually resembles the Girl with a Pearl Earring!

Another less exotic, but equally fabulous, spotting this week was an 8 week old Husky who conveniently delayed my trip to the library by half an hour, a half an hour less of test-cramming that was worth every last second.

photo

Meet Bo.

But, besides taking a midterm exam, having a xray on my kidneys (more on that later), going to the bakery with my friend, playing with a puppy, and dreaming of one day having my own dog that, coincidentally, I plan on naming Bo, I have been spending a decent amount of time putting together nourishing meals and snacks. For example, here are yesterday’s eats:

Greek yogurt with berry preserves and roasted mixed nuts.

Greek yogurt with berry preserves and roasted mixed nuts.

Pickled beets with chard, seasoned tofu, salted pumpkin seeds, creamy hummus, and basmati rice.

Pickled beets with chard, seasoned tofu, salted pumpkin seeds, creamy hummus, and basmati rice.

Cottage cheese with salted sunflower seeds and carob chips.

Cottage cheese with salted sunflower seeds and carob chips.

Salad mixed with feta cheese, salted pumpkin seeds, marinated and grilled tempeh, and dressed with balsamic vinaigrette, accompanied by a bulgur, butternut squash, and kale pilaf.

Salad mixed with feta cheese, salted pumpkin seeds, marinated and grilled tempeh, and dressed with balsamic vinaigrette, accompanied by a bulgur, butternut squash, and kale pilaf.

Saltines, nutella, and golden raisins make for a satisfying mid-study session snack.

Saltines, nutella, and golden raisins make for a satisfying mid-study session snack.

Between afternoon snack and dinner, I squeezed in forty-five minutes of spinning, which flew by because I was excited to try out my new cycling shoes. It felt great to get in a solid sweat on the bike as during my knee injury, I couldn’t last 2 minutes in spinning class. And I tell ya, cycling shoes are pretty pricey, but boy are they worth it: no more erroneous knee action..

photo

Just a sliver of mirror to monitor my form in..

Tomorrow brings an early morning run, class, library time, baby time at the place where I volunteer, and good food time. As for now, it’s bedtime. keep posted on my kidneys!

What’s the best investment you have made regarding sports items? Any good athletic clothing suggestions?

What’s the most bizarre thing you’ve ever spotted?

12 responses to “WIAW #10: Wearing a Towel to the Bakery

  1. My doppelgänger is the girl with the pearl earring, and I freak out every time I see it! Whenever I show friends or family that picture they go crazy and think it must be me! (Minus the head towel!). That Nutella looks so great! YUM!

  2. Ha Ha, I totally almost walked outside with my shower towel on my head last night. Thank goodness for the husband, or I would have completely forgotten!

  3. Mmmm…everything looks delicious!
    I’m loving your blog, by the way. I’m so happy that you commented on mine so that I could discover it. (:

    • Great to receive a comment from you, Laura. Cottage cheese in salads is surprisingly good – especially with kidney beans and balsamic dressing – but this one actually contained feta, which is even more delicious! I’m totally flattered that you’d want to eat my “good-looking food” because your meals are always so healthful and beautiful. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment