Are you a Cheerio or a Fruit Loop: The Personality Debate

tumblr_mjh2d0FyWX1s4wztvo1_500Food metaphors and analogies are my favorite. From “Life is like a box of chocolates; you never know what you’re gonna get” to “If life gives you lemons; make lemonade,” they never fail to impress, and today I came across a new one that simply reinforces their awesomeness: Be a Fruit Loop in a world full of Cheerios.

After lengthy deliberation, I have deduced that I am a pastel-colored Fruit Loop. I know, I know, pastel-colored Fruit Loops don’t exist, but the truth is, no matter how much I’d love to be as luminescent as the real deal, I’m just not; at this point in my life, a large portion of my being is Cheerio-ish – wading through waist-deep homework doesn’t exactly permit going on thrilling adventures that color the personality – and until I loosen up a little more, full-blown Fruit Loop-vibrancy will remain at bay.

Looking past the color aspect of this metaphor, with my deeply analytical eye, I cannot help but think about artificiality; after all, Fruit Loops are arguably more artificial than real, which, in turn, suggests that if you’re a Fruit Loop kind of person, you’re a fake. Womp, womp. Nevertheless, put this sidetrack aside and concentrate on what the metaphor of being a Fruit Loop versus a Cheerio truly gets at: being unique versus run-of-the-mill.

SAM_2190

Are you a Fruit Loop, Cheerio or half-and-half, and why?

2 responses to “Are you a Cheerio or a Fruit Loop: The Personality Debate

  1. I’ve heard this analogy over and over again but have never really taken the time to consider what category I fit in to. I think I’d probably have to go with a pastel-colored Fruit Loop too. Last year? I was a Cheerio, without a doubt. My life was monotonous and “safe”. But I’ve finally started learning to branch out and embrace change so I’m getting there. Hopefully we’ll both be bright, vivid Fruit Loops soon! ❤

Leave a Reply

