Dead Bird, Good Food

Having just deposited my month’s pay check for working for the school newspaper, I exited the bank with a spring in my step, until I saw this:

photo

Poor birdie had a bit of a collision with a hefty car, and the car won. Sure am glad I’m not the owner of the vehicle because plucking Birdie out would not be a happy task.

Nevertheless, with the bank out the way – I go first thing in the morning to avoid the agonizing lines – I dashed into the bakery next door, grabbed a little something to flesh out my breakfast, and headed home to wash it all down with a side of internet. My order of computer-related events in the morning from first to last is: Ruelala, Gilt (a girl’s got to have her priorities, right?), Gmail, Facebook, the Daily Mail, Twitter, and, if there’s time to spare, other news sources, though I mostly get my news through email because my mum likes to flood my inbox with articles she thinks are interesting.

Morning Glory muffin with toasted walnuts and salted almonds.

Morning Glory muffin with toasted walnuts and salted almonds.

The best email I got this morning, however, was a confirmation from Squaw Valley ski resort that I have purchased my 2013-2014 season pass. Skiing is one of my main motivators to be healthy – being skin and bones on the mountain is not a good idea; trust me, I have first-hand experience with the the exhaustion and numbness that comes with malnutrition and cold weather – so having unlimited access to the ski hill this winter is very good news for healthy ol’ me. And, putting healthy ol’ me into practice, I dove into a nutritious and delicious lunch:

Rice noodles with a mixture of fresh steamed veggies and leftover roasted ones, as well as a sprinkle of sesame seeds.

Rice noodles with a mixture of fresh steamed veggies and leftover roasted ones, as well as a sprinkle of sesame seeds.

Although I’m not one for working out mid-day, because I volunteer at Parenting Now in the evening, I had to hit the pool at 3 o’clock (i.e., as soon as I had fully digested lunch!). The good news is that the thirty minutes of laps helps me work up an appetite for an afternoon snack. There’s something about swimming that makes me ravenous afterward.

Greek yogurt with pretzel sticks, dried blueberries, and sunflower seeds.

Greek yogurt with pretzel sticks, dried blueberries, and sunflower seeds.

Though many people may raise an eyebrow at this, I firmly believe that working with two-year olds is life-affirming: their giggles and curiosity alone let me forget about all my woes for the three hours that we are together. Today’s highlight was when one of the little boys was telling me a story that involved an “andoomince,” by which I soon figured out he meant ambulance.

Midway through the evening group, the kids congregate around a miniature snack table, and sit on miniature chairs to eat Cheerios and banana slices. Neither of those really float my boat, so I held off for dinner:

Eggplant and parsnip coconut milk-based curry with a brown rice and pumpkin seed pilaf.

Eggplant and parsnip coconut milk-based curry with a brown rice and pumpkin seed pilaf.

Since dinner was on the lighter side, I had plenty of room for a delicious dessert, which I ate while watching Terms of Endearment. Since I only watch movies while I’m eating dessert at night, it takes DAYS to get through them, but stopping and starting doesn’t bother me too much; having something to look forward to each day helps me get through the less enjoyable things, like lectures, wink wink.

Dark chocolate pudding with animal crackers, several of which took a detour on their way from the box to the plate, and ran into my mouth before they could hit the bed of chocolate.

Dark chocolate pudding with animal crackers, several of which took a detour on their way from the box to the plate, and ran into my mouth before they could sink into the pool of chocolate.

Which type of exercise builds up your appetite most?Β 

Do toddlers make you happy or drive you around the bend?Β 

6 responses to “Dead Bird, Good Food

  1. All of your food looks delish! You are inspiring me to get back in the kitchen and try new recipes! Weight lifting makes me HUNGRY. I can feel the difference between a hungry belly and hungry muscles. It’s interesting! Have a fabulous day!

    • It sure did hit the spot, but now that it’s a new day, I’m ready for more πŸ™‚ Perhaps I’ll replicate with a different cookie tonight, or switch out the chocolate pudding for vanilla ice cream. So many lovely options! Thanks for popping by πŸ™‚

  2. Okay- will you please come over and prepare/plate all of my food for me? Seriously. Everything looks gorgeous and delicious!
    And I completely agree that working with children can brighten up any day. They’re so carefree and genuine. I think adults can learn a lot from that. (:

    • I’d prepare and plate up all your food in a jiffy if you were a little closer by πŸ˜‰ One day, my friend, one day… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

