Need. New. Pants. And a side of chocolate.

Getting dressed this morning was rather more energetic than usual: I had to break out the pants dance, which usually only happens when I raid my dressing up box for parties; let’s just say that my grandma’s 1940s waist probably rivals a 20th century ten-year old’s. It seems that continuing to surrender to the natural course of life – by which I specifically mean listening to my body’s nutritional needs – has allowed my figure to regain even more of its wonderful womanliness.

For a girl who once starved herself to maintain the body of a child – a body that postponed daunting independence – warmly welcoming curves is not easy, but impending graduation, moving to a big city to live a big girl life, and reminding myself that my next birthday marks 25 years of life, help me to accept these physical changes. Admittedly, every other hour I’m slapped with a you’re getting lumpy and bumpy, missy, but I have reached a point in my recovery where I can slap back those slaps; I have come too far to fall prey to my fears.

That said, this week’s pants dance, combined with the warmer weather – warm weather and I don’t have a happy history – mean I have had to pull out all the stops when it comes to putting together enticing meals and snacks; after all, when food loses its appeal – for me, this is largely when I am physically uncomfortable – nothing is more remedying than healthful eats that remind you of nature’s beauty, cheesy as that may sound.Β  Β 

All-bran with toasted walnuts and brown sugar.

All-bran with toasted walnuts and brown sugar.

Agave Dijon potatoes and zucchini, grilled tempeh, hummus, almonds, and pistachios.

Agave Dijon potatoes and zucchini, grilled tempeh, hummus, slivered almonds, and salted pistachios.

Dried peaches with trail mix and cottage cheese.

Dried peaches with trail mix and cottage cheese.

Marinated tofu, rice, mixed greens, sunflower seeds, feta, tahini, avocado, and a splash of soy sauce.

Pumpernickel bread topped with a thick smear of Nutella, a dusting of dried coconut, and fresh blackberries.

Pumpernickel bread topped with a thick smear of Nutella, a dusting of dried coconut, and fresh blackberries.

On another note, to celebrate my burgeoning adventurousness in the kitchen, I treated myself to a classic cast iron casserole dish, which arrived just in time for something I plan to cook later this week (spoiler alert: it will be casseroley). My favorite cookware brand is Le Creuset, but I prefer Cuisinart’s casserole dishes because #1, they’re half the price, and #2, the knobs on their lids are cast iron like the rest of the dish, not plastic like Le Creuset’s. Regardless, receiving this household goodie has also helped me be more at one with my womanly body because it shows just how “adultish” I’m becoming; however, by no means do I mean to insinuate that part of being a woman is buying dishes because her place is in the kitchen, wink wink.

SAM_2145

After a long day at school, coming home to a “gift” was wonderful.

SAM_2144

Classic red exterior.

SAM_2143

Delicious cream interior.

I’ll keep you posted on the casserole front, and I’d love to hear what your favorite things to make in a cast iron pot are. Also, what makes you feel better when you’re having bad body image days? Please do share your wisdom!

6 responses to “Need. New. Pants. And a side of chocolate.

  1. I have a goal of owning a beautiful Le Creuset pot/dish of my own one day in the future…so wonderful. My mom has one and my eyes glaze over from love every time she uses it.

    • I love cooking at home primarily because I can play with all the lovely pots and pans- Like your mum, my mum has some yummy Le Creuset dishes that just scream my name as soon as I walk into the house πŸ˜‰ From now on, we know what to ask for for birthdays and Christmases!

  2. Love the casserole dish! Pretty items for the kitchen always cheer me up too. When I’m having a bad body image day I try to remind myself that it will pass. I swear, one day I can feel rather thin, and the very next I’m on par with the beluga whales. It’s random and doesn’t make sense to me. I also remind myself that no one notices my flaws as much as me and try to see myself as someone else might see me

  3. Oh my goodness, the randomness of it all is such a killer- far too exhausting 😦 Thanks for the words of wisdom though- remembering the yucky feeling will pass is hard to convince myself of in the moment, but you’re right, it definitely helps πŸ™‚ And on that note, I better get on that this very minute!

Leave a Reply

