WIAW #9: Toddlers and Treats

As of last week, not only are Wednesdays a day to look forward to because of WIAW posts, they are exciting because I get to work in a family therapy-type setting with parents and their two-year olds. And by the way, I am pushing for a move toward labeling the second year of life the Tremendous Twos versus the Terrible Twos; sure, temper tantrums are painful to meet face-to-face, and miniature “monsters” who get a kick out of testing their elders’ limits are brutal on maintaining ones youthfulness –  gray hair and stressed skin come to mind – but their excitement to explore and to challenge do not necessarily deserve such a deflating name. If there’s one thing I have learned from working with families with toddlers, it’s that humor is the key to success; imperfection is beautiful, its inverse is dull.

Because I work from 5.30-8.30pm and have classes all day, on Wednesdays I have to squeeze in an early morning workout. Luckily, there is a Group Power class at 9.15 – there is also one at 5.30, but that’s about four or five hours after I usually fall asleep, which makes it unfeasible – so I get in a decent sweat before hitting the books. The best part of the morning is the post-workout breakfast, closely rivaled by a rinse off in one of the gym’s awesome power showers, though there is one I have to avoid because it is so powerful it practically rips my “goods” right off.

SAM_0389

Greek yogurt topped with blueberry compote and a power muffin packed with seeds.

The only problem with working out and then sitting down to a lovely breakfast is that I inevitably end up struggling to get back out the door. Thankfully, I have completed all the math classes I need to take, so finding the motivation to head to school is not that difficult, especially since my first class on a Wednesday is Psychopathology, which never fails to fascinate.

Proceeding class, I usually head to the library to fit in an hour of studying before lunch. However, sunshine has finally arrived in Oregon, so I opted to read outside instead. While I did so, I couldn’t help but think back to last month in Oman when I’d read my textbook on our boat. I know, I know, It’s not good for me to do so much reminiscing, but I am improving in my ability to stay in the present, I promise. And at least today’s bout of nostalgia didn’t get me down; it simply reminded me of how fortunate I am, which accordingly encouraged me to feed my body and soul with a healthful lunch.

Cold sesame seaweed noodles made with brown rice spaghetti, onions, broccoli, cabbage, sunflower oil and toasted sesame oil, tamari, agave, dulse, wakame, sea lettuce, ginger, sesame seeds, and olive oil.

Cold sesame seaweed noodles made with brown rice spaghetti, onions, broccoli, cabbage, sunflower oil and toasted sesame oil, tamari, agave, dulse, wakame, sea lettuce, ginger, sesame seeds, and olive oil.

SAM_1253

Chocolate chip Cliff bar with half of a plum.

At work, we stop for a snack one hour into therapy, so that parents can refuel on cheese and crackers, carrots, and mini cookies; learning how to raise a child is draining, so simple snacks are always much appreciated, and always polished off. However, I tend not to join in with this snack because it is at 7pm, which is sort of an awkward time. As part of my recovery, I am trying to become more relaxed about meal and snack times, but some instances are too much for me to handle, and this is one of them. In turn, even if I’m hungry, I wait for dinner.

100_0835

Herbed potato chard, broccoli salad, and brown rice mixed with salted pumpkin seeds.

As usual, I have to finish on a sweet note, so I put together a dessert using the cake samples I picked up from Market of Choice on my way home. Cunning!

Dark chocolate mousse topped with crumbs of chocolate cake with chocolate icing, rasberry poppyseed cake with a raspberry center, and a lemon cream cake with lemon icing.

Dark chocolate mousse topped with crumbs of chocolate cake with chocolate icing, raspberry poppyseed cake with a raspberry center, and a lemon cream cake with lemon icing.

With sugar in my system, I knocked out a quarter of an essay, and now I’m lying in bed, eyes begging me to let them shut. Another good day in the books.

Do you like sampling food in supermarkets?

What’s your favorite cake flavor?

Leave a Reply

