Nutella Brownies

Having conquered my first 12 mile run in 5 months, yesterday I celebrated my recovery – touch wood that my patella tendon has mended itself for the long-term – by making Nutella brownies; it’s funny that not too long ago, dessert, in fact anything food-related, would have been considered punishing, and far from something to voluntarily make in the name of celebration.

Not only do these Nutella brownies seal my joy of being physically back to normal, they also remind me of Spring break because my mum and I made them for a camping trip in Oman, hence the recycled photographs (minus the last one). A mum’s touch always makes things better, but these thick and fudgy, Nutella-heavy treats sure do hit the spot still. Plus, one positive to making them away from home: more for me!

SAM_1675

SAM_1677

SAM_1683

There was a bit of a butter explosion in the microwave...

Note the ready-to-drop yellow blobs on the roof of the microwave? There may have been a little bit of a butter explosion during the melting process…

Just after declaring, "let the fun begin," the bag of sugar spilled over... Note Deefer in the background: he always wants to help when things go wrong, especially when it comes to cleaning up food messes...

Just after cleaning up the butter mess, and just as mum was declaring, “let the fun begin,” the bag of sugar spilled over… Note Deefer in the background: he always wants to help when things go wrong, especially when it comes to cleaning up food messes…

SAM_1696

SAM_1695

SAM_1703

SAM_1707

Brownie en route to the depths of my stomach...

Brownie en route to the depths of my stomach…

I wonder if it would be overkill to serve these Nutella brownies with my infamous Nutella gelato. I’m thinking… NOT! Next time…

Leave a Reply

