Too Tired to Taste, Too Wary to Waste

My suntan is fading by the minute; unfairly, opposite to weight gain and loss, tans take a long time to build, but they fade in no time at all. Then again, I wonder why I even put much effort into tanning as my body, unless it’s the month of July or August, is kept under wraps in Oregon. And along with tanning, my relaxed state of mind is quickly disintegrating; classes commenced two days ago and I am already calling the library my second home. Fortunately, reading about psychopathology, and motivation and emotion, are far from boring for my psychology-oriented mind that thirsts for information on the human state.

To rev up my engine in the morning, I enjoyed a nutritious and delicious breakfast:

Greek yogurt topped with flax seeds, and served with dried papaya slices, toasted walnuts, and salted almonds.

Greek yogurt topped with flax seeds, and served with dried papaya slices, toasted walnuts, and salted almonds.

For lunch, I refreshed with a summery salad:

Greens with radish sprouts, raisins, broccoli, blue cheese, and a raspberry-poppy seed dressing.

Greens with radish sprouts, raisins, broccoli, blue cheese, and a raspberry-poppy seed dressing.

Afterwards, I headed to the library, of course, before going to my afternoon lecture. The mental energy I used in class worked up an appetite, so I had a little snack:

Feeling orangey today, but the tangerine was on its last legs and the goldfish, well, they were just crying out to me.

Feeling orangey today, but the tangerine was on its last legs and the goldfish, well, they were just crying out to me.

After snacking, I grocery shopped – for obvious reasons, one should never go food shopping on an empty stomach – and then my friend and I tackled a 7 mile run. However, time ran away from us when we got to chatting while stretching, and ready to go to bed at 4pm meant I was not a happy bunny when I found myself preparing dinner at 9. I was literally cooking with one eye closed and that half of the brain long gone into dreamland, while the other watered with the agony of sleep deprivation. In turn, to accommodate my fogginess, I elected to prepare a meal that demanded minimal cooking. Getting anxious for both food and bed by this late hour, I distracted myself by reading, but being wholeheartedly weaker than the powerful urge to shut my eyes meant that within five minutes of putting the lid on my rice to simmer away for a remaining 25, I dozed off, not waking up until an hour later. Dazed and confused, I raced over to the stove and quickly removed the pot of rice from the burner, praying that what was in there was salvageable. Fortunately, all survived the extra hour of heat.

Rice and beans, cottage cheese topped with salted pumpkin seeds, and sauerkraut.

Rice and beans along with cottage cheese topped with salted pumpkin seeds, and sauerkraut.

Dark chocolate pudding topped with chocolate chip cookie chunks.

Dark chocolate pudding topped with chocolate chip cookie chunks.

It wasn’t 10 minutes after dessert before I was in bed, and two seconds after that that I was fast asleep, not opening an eye until my alarm sounded for weight lifting class at 8am. And then the good eats began again.

What time do you usually eat dinner? Do you panic when it gets “too late”? What do you eat when you’re too tired to cook?

3 responses to “Too Tired to Taste, Too Wary to Waste

  1. We usually eat around 7PM, that said, some days we eat later and some days we eat earlier… But on those later days I tend to just make something that requires minimal cooking cause I’d rather be sitting than standing over the stove!

Leave a Reply

