WIAW: The Middle Eastern Edition

The following eats are brought to you from the Middle East. Spring break’s being spent at my parents’ house in Oman, so the food in these pictures has been provided courtesy of them, and I tell ya, it sure is nice to grocery shop with someone else’s wallet.

Hot climates call for crisp cereal, so I’ve been making sure my all-bran bathes in extra cold milk, which requires putting a bowl of milk in the freezer 10 minutes prior to consumption:

SAM_1909

Like many travelers, going overseas makes me suffer from "intestine issues," so fibrous All-Bran helps things function, wink wink.

Like many travelers, going overseas makes me suffer from “intestine issues,” so fibrous All-Bran helps things function, wink wink.

I like to keep things simple and refreshing for the sake of not feeling bloated in this hot and steamy climate:

Sharp English coastal cheddar served atop pumpernickel bread and topped with cucumber slices, accompanied by fresh tabouli made by the local Middle Eastern food shop.

Sharp English coastal cheddar served atop pumpernickel bread, and topped with cucumber slices, accompanied by fresh tabouli made by the local Middle Eastern food shop.

Post-swim and pre-dog walk, I’ve been munching on little sweat treats:

Strawberry Kuala bears make me reminisce on my early childhood in Hong Kong.

Strawberry Kuala bears make me reminisce on my early childhood in Hong Kong.

Dinners have been catered by me; when I’m home, my parents prefer to eat the foods that I typically consume because when it’s just the two of them, they tend to follow a more meat and potato sort of diet. It’s taking a while, but my dad is slowly getting used to tofu; to help it go down, I think he just imagines he’s eating cubes of chicken breast.

Lentil quinoa pilaf with lime dressing, roasted kale, herbed tofu, saurkraut, and a dollop of hummus.

Lentil quinoa pilaf with lime dressing, roasted kale, herbed tofu, saurkraut, and a dollop of hummus.

Because we don’t have TV here – the signal and shows are dire – every night, we restrict ourselves to one TV show that we have on DVD so that we don’t run out of nighttime entertainment. During this hour, I usually eat a home-baked goody while my parents sip wine; chocolate, in my opinion, rules the roost.

To keep track of the next episode to watch, we write the name on a Post-it stuck to the outside of the DVD box; this way, all confusion is avoided, and efficiency is maintained!

To keep track of the next episode to watch, we write the name on a Post-it stuck to the outside of the DVD box; this way, all confusion is avoided, and efficiency is maintained!

Would you rather have a proper desert or wine? Then again, if you’re like my dad, you’ll go for both..

See more WIAWs here.

One response to “WIAW: The Middle Eastern Edition

Leave a Reply

