Got Me Some Fast Food

On this Foodie Friday, I was hungry as a hog and busy as a bee, so I got me some fast food:

What’s faster than knocking back a protein bar? Not much. McDonald’s aint got nuthin’ on fruit and nuts.

SAM_1543

Shoveling down a homemade extra peanut buttery cereal bar en route to work.

Lunch was fast food too: a speedy trip around the salad bar, mindlessly throwing all sorts of wild and wonderful veggies into my (not so) little plastic container.

"Provencal" potato salad on one side of the container, and a tofu, edamame, broccoli, and kale salad topped with Green Goddess dressing on the other side.

“Provencal” potato salad on one side of the container, and a tofu, edamame, broccoli, and kale salad topped with Green Goddess dressing on the other side.

Having established that the theme of the day was fast food, for an afternoon pick-me-up, I opted to have yogurt and a larabar that slipped down my throat and into my welcoming belly in less than 60 seconds.

Between the larabar (a spoon in disguise) and my finger, we polished this snack off in a jiffy... no trace of yogurt and no crumb of bar were to be seen...

Between the larabar (a spoon in disguise) and my finger, we polished this snack off in a jiffy… no trace of yogurt and no crumb of bar were to be seen…

Dinner was the healthful vegetarian version of a McDonald’s burger meal:

Real McDonald's meal...

Real McDonald’s meal…

Bunny’s “McDonalds” meal: sub the meat burger for a vegan one, the french fries for a pile o’ beet chips, and the artificially flavored soda for a bottle of “nutritonic” kombucha (each one has over 2.2 BILLION organisms in it!)

You better believe dessert was speedy, too; by this point, I was on a roll on the fast food front.

A shortbread slice dunked into a mound of nutella.

A shortbread slice dunked into a mound of nutella.

What are your opinions on fast food? In truth, I cannot remember the last time I ate in a traditional fast food joint,predominantly because, as this post proves, healthful foods are just as easy to pick up in a hurry.

What’s your go-to “fast food” meal or snack?

2 responses to “Got Me Some Fast Food

    • Thank you, Sunnie! All veggie chips are wonderful, but I actually prefer beet chips over the likes of Kale chips because they’re more chip-ish, if you get what I mean… There’s more to them… More of a meaty crunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

