Foodie Friday: The Bake Sale Edition

Completely and utterly shattered after last night’s bar-hopping, this morning I encouraged my body to spring into action by ingesting a large bowl of revitalizing, “stomach-calming” (wink wink) Greek yogurt accompanied by sunflower seeds, golden raisins, pumpkin seeds, dried cherries, and granola.

SAM_1189

Proceeding breakfast, the chaos began. Having had an epiphany that clinical psychology is, in fact, the path I should take – journalism temporarily pushed the idea of becoming a therapist aside – I ventured to the Peer Advising room on campus. Fortunately, I was helped thoroughly, and, in turn, upon their recommendation, I proceeded to go straight to the Couples and Family Therapy department in the College of Education, a department I didn’t know even existed; thank goodness for the advisers. Unexpectedly, the leading lady of the program was available to talk to me, so for an hour my brain was pummeled with information about Masters programs. Ouch.

In need of another hearty meal following my exhaustive morning of figuring out the steps to becoming a therapist, I raced slowly (oxymoron intended: I was so hungry that I walked quickly, but so tired that it felt as though I was slogging along) back to my sweet studio to tuck into a buttered whole wheat roll from the local health food store, tofu pate, marinated and grilled tempeh, and a salad including sweet corn, which I haven’t had in a long, and was very pleased with.

SAM_1237

Next stop was the Career Center to talk to someone in the loop about volunteering at therpyesque places in Eugene, the town where I am currently at school. She gave me some great ideas, which meant that the library was my next stop; research, here I come.

SAM_1420

Feeling accomplished and pleasantly exhausted, I headed over to the school’s bookstore in hopes of finding a bake sale going on. Clearly “the big man upstairs” felt the need to pat me on the back for my hard work, so I found cupcakes and cookies galore that the University of Oregon’s dance team were selling to raise money to travel to competitions. With drool literally spilling out of my mouth, I hurriedly plopped $1.50 into their donations jar, and then proceeded to chose a triangle-shaped slice of extremely moist vanilla bean shortbread, a gooey extra chocolatey chocolate chip cookie, and a little piece of Funfetti cake topped with chocolate icing and sprinkles.

SAM_1418

I must say, carrying these goodies home in my sweaty palm was slightly awkwardpeople most definitely did look me up and down a few timesbut, because of my former life as an anorexic, I felt an overwhelming sense of pride that knocked those fears of judgement right out the way; day by day, self-deprivation and restriction are becoming history. And that, my friends deserves another pat on the back, if I may say so myself.

The rest of the day was dedicated to self-repair. Feeling a little bit bruised and battered from the combination of Thursday night’s partying and the laundry list of things I tackled earlier on, I headed to the gym to do some gentle exercise followed by some quality relaxation in the hot tub, sauna, and steam room. Fresh as a daisy, and relaxed as relaxed could be, I biked home to spinach soup, crackers, leftover avocado, and some more sweet nibbles to end the day on a sweet note.

TGIF is all I can say.

Leave a Reply

