WIAW #4

My day started with a phone call from my crazy old lady friend who I met in the sauna at the DAC. She and I are equally as OCD about our sauna-steam room ritual, and thus meet nightly. She is “crazy” on so many levels, but I love each little quirk of hers. She makes me laugh everyday, even if it’s internally (sorry if that’s harsh, I don’t mean to be) because she’s so “out there” and “off her rocker”. For example, she claims to have scored in the top 1% for the MCATS, got a scholarship to Stanford at the age of 30 to study medicine and statistics (though, confusingly, she asked me what I meant when I said I was taking a “stats” class…), then became a businesswoman and made millions, and married a man 20 years her junior who apparently is a famous doctor even though he works in a random city in Oregon. On top of this, she has overcome alcoholism, is a fanatical Christian (she regularly puts her hand on my knee to pray for it to heal, and then gives me advice that Jesus told her to tell me), has written a 300-page novel and read the Bible over 27 times in a variety of languages, is building a mansion in Alaska that will be made of a special rock that she’s hand-picking in South Africa, has also just purchased a property in the Laguna Beach area, all while she, her “hunky” hubby who’s actually not so hunky, and her two chihuahuas live in a small condo in a not very aesthetically pleasing part of town that’s situated between two highways. To put the cherry on the cake, she informs me daily that she has either run 8 or 10 miles, though yesterday it was 18. Little does she know that the sauna doors do not block out sound very well, so I catch her telling others she has run x number of miles, an x that is totally different from what she has just reported to me. The most recent advice she has given me is that I wouldn’t need to get a flu shot if I just believed in Jesus because Jesus gives us our immune systems that protect us from germs that are actually “made of demons.” And I am not exagerrating or telling porkies; believe it or not, this lady is for real, and if you ask me, judging by all this, she is quite the superwoman.

Tangent aside, Sauna Dianne called me at 8.30 to make sure I was out of bed and on my way to the morning Group Power class. Despite all her “dodgy” bits, Dianne is a reliable sweetheart who kindly sets up my bench and bar because she wants to ensure I get a spot. The class doesn’t start until 9:15, but since it inherently fills up so incredibly quickly, Dianne gets there at 8am sharp to reserve our spaces, and then spends an hour reading her bible in a quiet room upstairs. Bless her.

Unable to eat until after I exercise in the morning, I raced home at 10.15 to gobble down breakfast. I prefer eating breakfast at a more “breakfasty” time, like 8.3o or 9, but I do much better physically if I do not eat right before the morning workout class; I tend to get a really sloshy belly that can be rather distracting.

Cottage cheese topped with flax seeds, almonds, and a crumbled up blueberry scone.

Cottage cheese topped with flax seeds, almonds, and a crumbled up blueberry scone.

I forewent snacking mid-morning because breakfast was so close to lunchtime, so I headed off to work empty handed, only to return three hours later for my second meal of the day.

A hefty mix of tempeh marinated in soy sauce, sprouted brown rice, mixed greens, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, feta cheese, tahini, and avocado.

A hefty mix of tempeh marinated in soy sauce, sprouted brown rice, mixed greens, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, feta cheese, tahini, and avocado.

In the afternoon, I headed to my internship with the nutrition sector of the Athletics department, and on my way, I passed by a booth where baked goods were eagerly awaiting my arrival. The treats were “bought” on a donation basis, so I gave them one dollar for a cookie and one dollar for a little cupcake. I hope that was reasonable; things that are “sold” by donation always make me nervous because I never know if I’m giving enough. Does anyone have suggestions about how I should go about donation “prices”?

The bake sale where I bought a chocolate chip cookie and cupcake.

The bake sale where I bought a chocolate chip cookie and cupcake.

I ate the perfectly baked cookie for an afternoon snack and supplemented it with a small handful of trail mix; after all, when you’re working alongside nutritionists, you feel the need to be at least a little bit healthy.  SAM_1304

A busy afternoon dealing with athletes and their food intake made me work up quite the appetite for dinner. On my way home I popped into the grocery store to pick up some basics (milk for tomorrow morning’s cereal, as well as some eggs to hard boil and then crumble onto salads, some yogurt, and a bag of vegetable chips from the bulk foods section), but I tell you, that required some serious concentration and discipline; going to the supermarket on an empty belly is not a good idea. Nevertheless, my mind was set on dinner, and I knew I had something tasty in store for me.

Pickled beets with chard, agave dijon potatoes with zuccinni, cabbage, and onions, and a pea and sprout salad tossed with Green Goddess dressing.

Pickled beets with chard, agave Dijon potatoes with zucchini, cabbage, and onions, and a pea and sprout salad tossed with Green Goddess dressing.

An hour after dinner and blog reading, I tucked into dessert while watching the latest episode of Grey’s Anatomy. Perfect combination.

dark chocolate gelato topped with organic rainbow  "m&ms", shredded coconut, and carob chocolate chips.

dark chocolate gelato topped with organic rainbow “m&ms”, shredded coconut, and carob chocolate chips.

I capped off the day with reading the news, catching up on twitter posts (I especially enjoy seeing what Cara Delevigne has posted since I last checked), and checking Facebook for one last time, as required of life.

At 11.30, I flopped into bed, and, just before drifting off to sleep, I planned the next day’s eats, already excited for breakfast.

Who else gets excited for breakfast when they’re lying in bed trying to fall asleep? What are your bed-time rituals?

One response to “WIAW #4

Leave a Reply

