WIAW #3

Determined not to miss my physiotherapy appointment, I set two alarms, one right next to me and the other on a table across the room to make sure that I actually got out of bed, and, taking a rather more drastic measure, I asked my parents to call me all the way from where they live in the Middle East (Oman is 12 hours ahead, so they called at around their dinner time). In other words, you better believe I awoke with a running start, but knowing I had this tasty muffin to bite into made the rush a little more pleasurable.

Breakfast

Flax, oat, and blueberry Power Muffin, with mixed raisins and salted almonds.

Flax, oat, and blueberry Power Muffin, with mixed raisins and salted almonds. Energy galore.

I was extremely nervous about paying a visit to my physiotherapist because I have this arguably irrational fear that one of the stretches or exercises she encourages me to do will trigger re-injury; now that my knee feels better, absolutely anything that threatens its repair scares the living daylights out of me. Sure enough, she stretched my leg in such a way that it made my knee hurt a little bit, but I trust that the pain that comes with stretching a rusty part of the body is beneficial; after all, I’m still alive and kicking right now. With that, I dug into a healthful lunch that simply rendered more positivity.

Lunch

White rice mixed with kale and beet salad that was leftover from Valentine's Day, topped with a dollop of Nancy's organic cottage cheese, and salted pistachios. Hit the spot.

White rice mixed with kale and beet salad that was leftover from Valentine’s Day, topped with a dollop of Nancy’s organic cottage cheese, and salted pistachios. Hit the spot.

Understanding that a large part of rehabilitation concerns being well-fueled, I opted to have a wholesome afternoon pick-me-up that would also energize me through a weight-lifting class that I planned to attend after work. With that, I savored a perfectly ripe kiwi and some trail-mix that I picked up from a local health food store.

Pre-workout snack

A delicious fresh kiwi and trail mix fueled me through my evening Group Power class.

A delicious fresh kiwi and trail mix fueled me through my evening Group Power class.

Proceeding my trip to the gym, which also included a lengthy soak in the hot tub and about ten minutes of blissful relaxation in the steam room, I whipped up an equally as refreshing supper using fresh produce galore, as well as several healthy fats, like sesame oil and olive oil. This vegetarian meal was divine, but, in the future, and especially after working out, I think it’s best that I make sure to incorporate a substantial amount of protein. The edamame salad provided a good 15 grams of protein, but in the future I will be sure to throw some marinated tempeh or grilled tofu into the noodles. The more protein the better, for this troublesome patella tendon of mine.

Dinner

Sesame seaweed noodles made with brown rice spaghetti, onions, broccoli, cabbage, sunflower oil and toasted sesame oil, tamari, agave, dulse, wakame, sea lettuce, ginger, sesame seeds, and olive oil, accompanied by an edamame and red pepper salad. So satisfying.

Finding it easier to fall asleep after having a nightcap of something sweet (ironic, I know…), I scrummaged around in the pantry until I found some inspiring ingredients to construct my snack out of. Let me introduce you to the most epic mini sandwich of all time:

Bedtime sweet treat

A Seeds & Seeds Caveman Bar that I broke in half to make a sandwich filled with nutella and a dusting of coconut. Just what the doctor ordered.

With that, I was off to bed, and once I hit the pillow, I was out like a light. That’s the sign of a good day of activities and eats, if you ask me.

What helps you sleep? If you could have eaten one of the above meals or snacks with me, which would it have been?

4 responses to “WIAW #3

    • Haha, I just clicked onto your WIAW post and saw that your morning snack was a kiwi; yay, us! I usually save tropical fruits for the summer, but I just couldn’t hold off any longer… Sometimes I sprinkle my kiwis with fresh lime juice, which is truly scrummy; you should try that sometime 🙂

  1. I love herbal tea before bed to help me sleep – as silly as it sounds Celestial Seasonings makes a “Sleepytime” tea and last year when I was having a few weeks of sleeping trouble, that was the only thing that seemed to work! What was in your trail mix? Looks yummy!

    • Hi Jen- Thanks for stopping by! And thanks for telling me about the Sleepytime tea; I’ve seen it around and have always wondered if it’s legit, so your experience with it is good to know. About the trail mix, the ingredients are: semi-sweet choc chips, roasted hazelnuts, almonds, and walnuts, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, bits of dried peaches, raisins, and craisins; such a satisfying combo 🙂

Leave a Reply

